The Bach Hour

Sundays 6-7am, Mondays midnight-2am

The virtually limitless well of music by J.S. Bach has always had a prominent place on radio airwaves in Boston. Whether it’s an iconic work like the Toccata and Fugue in D minor or a rarely heard but emotionally riveting church cantata, Bach’s music is a touchstone, returning listeners to a foundation on which so much subsequent music has been built.

Hear The Bach Hour each Sunday at 6am on 99.5 WCRB.

Sony Music Entertainment

On the program:

Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225 (translation) - Vocalconsort Berlin, Marcus Creed, conductor

Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 - Glenn Gould, piano

On the program:

Contrapunctus I, from The Art of the Fugue - Emerson String Quartet

Cantata BWV 33 Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (translation) - Franziska Gottwald, alto; Paul Agnew, tenor; Klaus Mertens, bass; Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Choir, Ton Koopman, conductor

Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 1100 - Hans Fagius, organ (1728 Cahman instrument at Leufsta Bruk, Sweden)

Chaconne (Etude No. 5 for the Left Hand, arr. Brahms) - Leon Fleisher, piano

Contrapunctus V, from The Art of the Fugue - Emerson String Quartet

Stu Rosner

On the program:

Missa Brevis in A, BWV 234 - Cantus Cölln, Konrad Junghänel

Partita No. 3 in E, BWV 1006, for Solo Violin - Aisslinn Nosky, violin

Harpsichordist and Academy of Ancient Music Music Director Richard Egarr talks about the Well-Tempered Clavier and Bradley Lehman's theory of tuning for the piece, and Konrad Junghänel conducts the Missa Brevis in F.

Balint Karosi, Minister of Music at Boston's First Lutheran Church, talks with WCRB's Brian McCreath about Bach's Clavierübung, Part III

On the program:

Trio Sonata in G, BWV 1038 - Emmanuel Pahud, flute; Berlin Baroque Soloists

Prelude in E-flat, BWV 552/1 - Balint Karosi, organ

settings of Dies sind die heilgen zehn Gebot by Schein, Praetorius, and Bach - Canto Armonico; Balint Karosi, organ

settings of Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir by Schein and Bach - Canto Armonico; Balint Karosi, organ

Fugue in E-flat, BWV 552/2 - Balint Karosi, organ