The Bach Hour

Sundays 6-7am, Mondays midnight-2am

The virtually limitless well of music by J.S. Bach has always had a prominent place on radio airwaves in Boston. Whether it’s an iconic work like the Toccata and Fugue in D minor or a rarely heard but emotionally riveting church cantata, Bach’s music is a touchstone, returning listeners to a foundation on which so much subsequent music has been built.

Hear The Bach Hour each Sunday at 6am on 99.5 WCRB.

Courtesy of the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Choir

On the program:

Concerto for two harpsichords in D minor, BWV 1062 - Raphael Alpermann and Jörg Andreas Bötticher, harpsichords;  Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Stephan Mai, director

Cantata BWV 105 "Herr, gehe nicht ins Gericht" (translation) - Lisa Larsson, soprano;  Elisabeth von Magnus, alto;  Gerd Turk, tenor;  Klaus Mertens, bass;  Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Chorus, Ton Koopman, conductor

Concerto in C, BWV 1055 (arr. Colm Carey) - Alison Balsom, trumpet;  Colm Carey, organ (Marcussen organ at Tonbridge School in Kent, England)

On the program:

Piece d'Orgue (Fantasy) in G, BWV 572 - Fretwork

Missa Brevis in G minor, BWV 235 - Cantus Cölln, Konrad Junghänel

Partita No. 3 in A minor, BWV 827 - Jeremy Denk, piano (pictured)

Visit Jeremy Denk's blog, Think Denk

On the program:

Two-Part Inventions: No. 4 in D minor, No. 5 in E-flat, and No. 6 in E, BWV 775-777 - Till Fellner, piano

Missa Brevis in G, BWV 236 - Cantus Cölln, Konrad Junghänel

Chaconne, from the Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004 (arr. Hideo Saito) - Boston Symphony Orchestra, Seiji Ozawa, conductor


On the program:

Arioso, from the Harpsichord Concerto in F minor, BWV 1056 (trans. Stokowski) - Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Jose Serebrier, conductor

Cantata BWV 135 Ach Herr, mich armen Sünder (translation) - Siri Thornhill, soprano; Petra Noskaiova, alto; Christoph Genz, tenor; Jan Van der Crabben, baritone; La Petite Bande, Sigiswald Kuijken, conductor

Chorale Prelude: Ach Herr, mich armen Sünder - Harald Vogel, organ (John Brombaugh organ at Central Lutheran Church, Eugene, Oregon)

Partita No. 2 for solo violin, BWV 1004 - Gil Shaham, violin

Hear the complete interview with Gil Shaham on The Answered Question.

Rafał Blechacz
Felix Broede/Deutsche Grammophon

Rafał Blechacz is a Polish pianist known best for his Chopin - but he's also brilliant with the music of J.S.Bach. Hear him play tender, timeless pieces on this week's Bach Hour.