Amsterdam Baroque Choir and Orchestra

Tanya Gabrielian
courtesy of the artist

This week on The Bach Hour, pianist Tanya Gabrielian performs a unique transcription of a Bach violin sonata, created by a roundtable of great composers.

Murray Perahia
Nana Watanabe

"Vivid, but not overdone." "Good taste and musical insight." Critics have a lot to say about Murray Perahia's interpretations of Bach - and with good reason. His playing rewards a close attention to subtle details. Hear it this week on The Bach Hour.

On the program:

Contrapunctus I, from The Art of the Fugue - Emerson String Quartet

Cantata BWV 33 Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (translation) - Franziska Gottwald, alto; Paul Agnew, tenor; Klaus Mertens, bass; Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Choir, Ton Koopman, conductor

Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 1100 - Hans Fagius, organ (1728 Cahman instrument at Leufsta Bruk, Sweden)

Chaconne (Etude No. 5 for the Left Hand, arr. Brahms) - Leon Fleisher, piano

Contrapunctus V, from The Art of the Fugue - Emerson String Quartet

Courtesy of the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Choir

On the program:

Concerto for two harpsichords in D minor, BWV 1062 - Raphael Alpermann and Jörg Andreas Bötticher, harpsichords;  Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Stephan Mai, director

Cantata BWV 105 "Herr, gehe nicht ins Gericht" (translation) - Lisa Larsson, soprano;  Elisabeth von Magnus, alto;  Gerd Turk, tenor;  Klaus Mertens, bass;  Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Chorus, Ton Koopman, conductor

Concerto in C, BWV 1055 (arr. Colm Carey) - Alison Balsom, trumpet;  Colm Carey, organ (Marcussen organ at Tonbridge School in Kent, England)

On the program:

Chorale Prelude: Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639 (arr. Busoni) - Simone Dinnerstein, piano

Cantata BWV 177 Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ (translation) - Sandrine Piau, soprano;  Bogna Bartosz, alto;  Christoph Pregardien, tenor;  Amsterdam Baroque Choir and Orchestra, Ton Koopman, director

Concerto in B-flat, BWV 1055 (arr. Wind) - Erik Bosgraaf, recorder;  Ensemble Cordevento

Prelude and Fugue in D, BWV 532 (arr. Respighi) - St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, Leonard Slatkin, conductor